What You Should Know About World of Warcraft – Burning Crusade Classic

We are influencers and brand affiliates.  This post contains affiliate links, most which go to Amazon and are Geo-Affiliate links to nearest Amazon store.

When Blizzard announced a new expansion of World of Warcraft (WoW) in 2021, fans anticipated the latest adventure. The declaration at BlizzCon was generally welcomed, but it wasn’t clear if the two versions could co-exist and remain relevant.  

Players assumed that they would automatically move on to the new portal from the classic WoW. However, they had the option of moving to The Burning Crusade(TBC) or remaining with the original game.  

This article gives an overview of World of Warcraft Burning Crusade and its influence on the players and their characters.

What Exactly is the Burning Crusade?

The Burning Crusade Classic is World of Warcraft’s first expansion, which was a big deal when it launched. The new installment evolved the game by creating scenarios where players could cooperate and socialize more.

There are many exciting things to look forward to in TBC, such as a raised level cap (70), new lands to explore, and thrilling raids.

The new PVP experience improved players’ gameplay experience, including more accessible contact with paladins and shamans.

Blizzard rolled out new phases in monthly intervals, including new raids and other special features.

Basic Requirements for Gameplay

You can start your TBC Classic adventure with these few preconditions.

  • A Battle.net account – if you’re a newbie or you want a fresh start, register a Battle.net account
  • WoW, Subscription – If you have a World of Warcraft subscription, you’ll be able to access TBC Classic without any additional purchase.
  •  Game Download – the game is available for Mac and PC. Download the desktop app and sign in to your Battle.net account to install the game

New Access to the Dark Portal

World of Warcraft fans appreciate how simple it is to create new characters and launch yourself into the dark frontier. New players could even get virtual tours through this great chapter of the game.

In the Burning Crusade Classic, the new world of Outlands offers just as much adventure and intrigue but with a few restrictions. Unlike before, when you could get access with a basic monthly subscription, this new platform requires at least a level 59 character to explore the new zones. 

What if your character is not at Level 60?

You could pay a fee of $35 for a one-time level boost that helps you maneuver through your first adventures in Outlands.

The workaround allows players to avoid the hassle of grinding up levels in WoW Classic to jump back into the Dark Portal.

Note that the level boost is not just a shortcut; it is a way for players to catch up with their counterparts.

The level boost does not apply to Blood Elf and Draenei characters and cannot work on WoW Classic.

A Major Decision to Make

Players are given the option of remaining on a Progression server or shifting to a Classic server. Progression servers are great because they grow with every expansion release, while Classic servers do not advance past base games.

Streamlined Leveling

One of the main selling points of WoW Classic is the journey of leveling. Each step takes you through a challenge that creates memorable milestones. 

The Burning Crusade Classic has streamlined for an enhanced gaming experience. Between levels 20 and 60, the required experience has reduced by up to 15%. The experience granted when handling quests has increased from level 30 to level 60.

Some elite quests and mobs are now regular, making solo leveling less demanding in the affected zones.

Save Gold for Your Flying Mount

Apart from Druids that get Flight Form from level 68, all the other classes must gather WoW Classic gold for the flying mount.

Once you start flying, you can move efficiently through difficult zones such as Edge Mountain and Netherstorm. Flying is also a mandatory step for specific stages of your attunement.

TBC Classic zones are designed for vertical exploration, making flying a better way of moving around. In contrast, Vanilla WoW was more inclined towards on-foot travel.

Are You rolling with Aldor or Scryer?

Once you get to the sanctuary city of Shattrath and pick the quest titled A’dal, you will have to choose between two factions; the Aldors led by Dranei or the Scryer headed by Blood Elves. 

You will be welcomed graciously to whichever group you choose despite your loyalty to the Horde or the Alliance.

Remember that both sides have individual rewards that the other cannot obtain. So your vendor access will depend significantly on which faction you choose.

Content Phases are Back

Like the split patch cycle of the Classic WoW, TBC Classic has five distinct content phases.

Blizzard decided to spread the content in patches with structured raids and PVP season releases. This phase model creates a buzz and gives players new exciting adventures to experience.

This is the TBC Classic phase schedule:

  • Phase 1 – Kharazhan, Magtheridon’s Lair and Gruul’s Lair, and Arena Season 1
  • Phase 2 – Serpentshrine Cavern, Tempest Keep, and Arena Season 2
  • Phase 3 – Black Temple, the battle for Hyjal summit and Arena Season 3
  • Phase 4 – Zul’aman raid and no Arena Season
  • Phase 5 – Quel’Danas zone, Sunwell Plateau, Magisters Terrace, and Arena Season 4

Some battlegrounds like Dire Maul were added after the game launched and included between phases to add exciting content to gameplay.

Don’t Forget About Questing After Level 70

You won’t gain any more experience points after you hit level 70, but this does not mean your quest log should remain inactive. 

Once you hit 70, you will access double the gold value for each quest. Another way of racking up some more gold is to complete new quests at max level. The newly acquired gold will come in handy during the mandatory purchase of the 900 gold flying mount.

Still Community Centric

The World of Warcraft community is a pillar of the whole gaming experience. The diverse social grouping of adventurers share their common interests, and the TBC expansion is yet another platform for the community to interact and share gaming exploits.  

Enhance Your Gaming Experience

World of Warcraft is an exciting game full of adventure, but you can add some thrill to your experience with a Dark Portal Pass. The pass allows you to boost your preferred character to level 58 and receive freebies like gold, unlocked flight paths, special gear and new skills.

The TBC Classic Deluxe edition is an excellent upgrade that adds a new dimension to your gaming experience. So what are the benefits of getting the deluxe version? Check out what to expect:

  •  A Dark Portal Pass
  • Reawakened Phase Hunter mount for TBC Classic
  • Viridian Phase Hunter mount
  • A Dark Portal Hearthstone
  • 30 days of gaming

Final Thoughts

Blizzard did a great job hyping TBC Classic, and more WoW Classic players are interested in the five new phases. However, there is a mixed reaction to the new game expansion based on the pre and post-launch activations.

All in all, The Burning Crusade embraces change well and gives the WoW Classic fans a new dimension of the game they love without straying too far from the original concept.

The future viability of TBC Classic and related content is pegged on the number of players who embrace and get hooked on the new expansion.

We are influencers and brand affiliates.  This post contains affiliate links, most which go to Amazon and are Geo-Affiliate links to nearest Amazon store.