Software

If your machine still has an optical drive, or maybe you have an external optical drive, EVGA includes a Drivers CD.  This disc not only includes drivers but a few other software applications.  We will go over them here.

  • Drivers
    • Audio
      • Realtek Audio 8 Channel Audio Driver – 6.0.1.7904
      • Creative Sound Core 3D – 6.0.101.1046
    • Chipset
      • Intel Chipset Device Software
    • Framework
      • dotNet 4.5 Framework
    • Graphics
      • Intel Graphics Driver – 21.20.16.4550
    • Intel Rapid Storage
      • Intel Rapid Storage Technology – 15.2.0.1020
    • LAN
      • Intel Network Connections Software – 21.1
      • KillerSuite – 9.0.0.5
    • ME
      • Intel Management Engine Components – 11.6.0.1039
    • RAID
      • 32/64bit F6 drivers – 15.2.0.1020
    • SATA
      • Marvell Magni Drivers – 1.0.0.1068
    • Thunderbolt
      • Thunderbolt – 16.2.52.250
    • 1
      • Asmedia USB Host Controller Driver – 1.16.38.1

There are aspects of the drivers that will not work on this board since it is a general disc made for the Z270 Stinger, FTW K and Classified K boards.  Most of the drivers will work for all the boards but for example the Creative Sound Core 3D drivers will only work on the Z270 Classified K board since the FTW K and Stinger have Realtek audio.

Prior to reviewing this board, I was using the EVGA Classified X99 board which had Creative Audio.  Between this Z270 FTW K and the X99 Classified board I can tell you first hand, the Creative Audio makes such a huge difference, it sounds so much better.

Aside from the Drivers, the disc includes the motherboard manual and wall papers for the Z270 FTW K and the Z270 Classified.

This was the wallpaper for example, for the FTW K comes in the following resolutions 640×480, 800×600, 1024×768, 1280×960 and 1920×960.

For the Z270 Classified, its comes in 640×480, 800×600, 1024×768, 1280×960 and 1920×960 resolutions as well.

After everything is installed, we need to perform some benchmarks at base settings so that we can see how well our overclocks work afterwords.

Continue: 

Iggy Castillo

Iggy Castillo

Senior Editor an Reviewer at Dragonblogger.com
I have spent many years in the PC boutique name space as Product Development Engineer for Alienware and later Dell through Alienware's acquisition and finally Velocity Micro. During these years I spent my time developing new configurations, products and technologies with companies such as AMD, Asus, Intel, Microsoft, NVIDIA and more. The Arts, Gaming, New & Old technologies drive my interests and passion. Now as my day job, I am an IT Manager but doing reviews on my time and my dime.
Iggy Castillo

@zangza

I love the arts and technology. IT Manager by day at Jewett Automation and Reviewer by night at https://t.co/eYqx0uJofz and my own at @ThisBytesForYou
RT @OGACounterPIT: Join our #giveaway for a chance to win @AMDGaming Ryzen™ 7 2700X AMD50 Gold Edition CPUs, @SAPPHIRE_Adrian PULSE RX 5700… - 4 days ago
Iggy Castillo